Our Story So Far...

At the turn of the twentieth century, discussions and events were taking place that lead to the federation of the Australian colonies in 1901. At the same time, nestled in the outer southern districts of Melbourne was a small hamlet known as Rosstown. The area, which today is the thriving suburbs of Carnegie, Murrumbeena, Ormond and parts of Glenhuntly, was where this Cricket Club took root.

Amidst what was a semi-rural settlement, the local Methodist Church then known as Rosstown Wesley, fielded a local cricket team that was made up of the gentlemen of the parish. At the same time, other towns in the surrounding area via the auspices of the local church also fielded cricket teams and soon games were being played against each other. This led to the formation of a competition known as the South Suburban Churches 

Cricket Association (S.S.C.C.A) in the summer of 1900 – 1901. Carnegie United Cricket Club then known as Rosstown Wesley won the premiership in that inaugural season and so began an odyssey which has seen this Club survive through good times and bad times to move into its second century.

In 1920, the Club changed its name from Rosstown Wesley to Carnegie Methodist Cricket Club and shifted to its previous location at Lords Reserve Carnegie in 1923.

In 1982, the S.S.C.C.A changed its name to South Suburban Churches and District Cricket Association (S.S.C.D.C.A). The club underwent another name change to Carnegie United Cricket Club – “United” reflecting the multi-denominational and multicultural background of the members. And so it is that the Club welcomes lovers of the great game of cricket no matter what colour or creed they might be.

CUCC Kings has a membership of about 80 playing members, many social and life members who frequent the club during the cricket season and support the club at our events and games.

As one reflects on the past 100+ years and the Club’s achievements, it highlights a rich tapestry of survival and modest achievements.

  • Premiership Winners 2012-13, 2018-2019, 2019-2020, 2020-2021
  • Runners up in Grand Finals 2015-16, 2016-17, 2017-18
  • Semi-Finalists 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2012-13, 2013-14, 2014-15, 2015-16, 2016-17